Forest fire, fare thee well

autumnHello everyone :) It has been a year since I ventured out to write the first post for this blog ( lots of words, one blurry drawing). I am now 37 posts old, and it wouldn’t have been possible without the help of D, my photographer in shining armor(read: plaid shirt and hoodie), and the support and encouragement of my family and friends, both here in the blogging world, and outside. Here is a big thank you to all of you!! :D

Japanese bridgeI was finally able to do the koyo ( autumn leaves) post that I had been planning for ages, and I thought this would be a fitting farewell to November as it steps aside to make way for  decked-up December. These pictures were taken at Minoh, an hour’s train ride from Osaka, and a place famous for maple leaves-viewing in autumn.  Although most of the leaves have fallen by now, Minoh still attracts throngs of visitors because of its deep, mysterious woods and a postcard-worthy waterfall. Picture 029red maple leavesfall the last leavesred carpet

Quaint bridges like this one always remind me of The Three Billy Goats

Quaint bridges like this one always remind me of The Three Billy Goats                                                                                    

I am always delighted whenever I come across a lamp post - they bring back memories of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe :)

I am always delighted to come across a lamp post – they bring back memories of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe :)                        

 

Momiji tempura, a snack of deep-fried momiji leaves in batter

Momiji tempura, a snack of deep-fried maple leaves in batter

mountains on firevermilion tunnelwaterfall at dusk

I was on my own, so I couldn’t take any outfit pictures ( all I can say is that I was wearing high-heeled ankle boots- not the most brilliant of choices since I had to hike for about five kilometers to the waterfalls and back). Here is one that an obliging pair of high school girls took : waterfall And a Polyvore reproduction of what I was wearing : maple-viewing Thank you for reading, and I will see you very soon with another post! Have a great start to December :) xo

Trench : ZARA, turtleneck tunic and jeans : UNIQLO, ankle boots : attagirl, bag : gifted

3 responses to “Forest fire, fare thee well

  1. Lovely pictures, makes me wish I was there! I absolutely love Momiji tempura! I tried one (or more) when I went to Miyajima. So glad you showed a picture of one, just puts a smile on my face! They are so delicious. You look so adorable too, I love your look:)

    • Hello there! I am sorry it’s taken me ages to get back. Thank you so much for always popping in, and leaving your lovely words :) Yes, the tempura were a delight – I would love to get my hands on some more! Looking forward to many more wonderful posts from you. Warm wishes :)

Leave a Reply

