Going antiques-a-hunting

Hello everyone! It is finally beginning to feel like autumn. The mornings and evenings have that definite nip in the air, but it’s still very warm during the day. This is also the time for the annual autumn cold virus to do its rounds, and I am sorry to report that I have been struck – pretty bad – by it :( That being said, I was not going to let a stuffy nose and a scratchy throat stop me from hopping over to the neighboring prefecture of Kyoto last Sunday. Toji temple, one of Kyoto’s many UNESCO world heritage sites, opens its grounds to an antiques/flea market on the 21st of every month, and armed with my new camera(a Nikon P310 point-and-shoot), I set out to play tourist, and pick up a curio or two.
Kyoto tends to get colder than Osaka, so I layered a lot of pieces..only to be faced with a uncharacteristically warm, sunny day that had me complaining about my wardrobe choice for the rest of the day. I was ever so glad that I had opted for my faithful leopard flats instead of the knee-length boots that I initially chosen.Moving on to the pictures from the market, here are some of my favorites :

A kimono stall

A woman adds assorted vegetables to yaki soba ( fried noodles, similar to Chinese chow mein).

Hanging ornament with good luck charms

A time-teller who likes to ‘hang around’

A one-stop shop for all your antique needs

An amber bracelet inlaid with bugs. Lovely.

An elderly lady outside her garment stall

A pair of katana. It is Japan, after all.

A whimsical, fascinating antique clock whose mechanism I failed to grasp

Porcelain dolls. They always make my skin crawl.

When he isn’t kidnapping Princess Peach, Bowser apparently likes to go antique-shopping

Deep-fried sweet potato treat

And so ended my little antique market adventure. The only thing I picked up was a vintage midi-length skirt ( forgot to take a picture, unfortunately) that I have grand DIY plans for. This trip was a test run for the Nikon 310 as well, and I am happy with the pictures. It takes some nice marco shots, and I am glad I can finally leave my Nikon P100 at home.

Thank you so much for joining me, and see you soon :) Have a great week! xo

Sweater dress, tee, jeans : UNIQLO, blazer : H&M, flats : Shinsaibashi, bag : gifted, scarf : some random store.

2 responses to “Going antiques-a-hunting

Leave a Reply

