Follow the butterflies

A beautiful day to all of you! We had some nice balmy weather today, and the fact that autumn is on its way in has me in high spirits. Seasons play a very important role here in Japan, and the occasion of one season changing into another is received with much celebration. Autumn is for, among other things, immersing yourself into books and the love of reading ( dokusho no aki, autumn of reading), stuffing yourself silly with the seasonal delights ( shokuyoku no aki, autumn of appetite), and for schools to hold their annual Sports Days ( undo no aki, autumn of exercise).  However, I think most Japanese and my fellow foreigners will agree that the best part of autumn is koyo, when the leaves change from green into shades of gold and fiery red.  The neighboring prefecture of Kyoto has some of the best koyo viewing spots , and I hope to share pictures with you sometime soon :)Back to today’s outfit, I treated myself to these beautiful red shoes from ZARA’s TRF Fall/Winter 2012 collection. Now, I have never owned red shoes ( ok, there might have been a shiny patent, bow-festooned pair mum got me from Delhi when I was five, but anyway..) and am usually drawn to more subtle colors, but then I saw these and had to put my hunt for the perfect nude pumps on hold :DBecause I wanted the spotlight to be on the shoes, I kept the rest of the outfit basic and low-key, though I did choose a fun butterfly-print shirt over a plain one. And yay for cooler weather because we can dig out our cardigans!

Thank you so much for reading. Have a lovely start to autumn, and see you very soon. Much love and thanks to D for the pictures  xo

Shoes : ZARA, cardigan :g.u., jeans : UNIQLO, shirt : H&M, bag: Korea, gold cuff , ring :Malice, fish bracelet : Abe-chika, shell bangle : Shirahama, watch : Skagen (gifted).

Leave a Reply

