Of birthdays and bargains

Hello! It has been a very, very, VERY long time indeed. I wish I could say that I have been away, traveling to exotic, distant places; but the real reason for the lack of posts is an extremely mundane one – a hectic work schedule. Sigh :(This post was supposed to be put up for my birthday, which was a couple of weeks ago. Unfortunately, that didn’t go as planned and so the pictures have been lying around gathering virtual dust on my computer ever since. Le Boyfriend (who shall be known simply as “D” henceforth) and I decided to spend the day Flea market-hopping ( Mum on the phone, when I told her of my day’s plans : “You are going to the fleamarket on your birthday?! Do something nice!”). Heh.It turned out to be a brilliantly sunny day, so I headed out in a breezy maxi dress (the epitome of effortless summer chic!) with a chambray shirt thrown over. We don’t have flea markets back home in Bhutan, so it was a whole new awesome shopping experience when I first discovered them here in Japan. Oh, the joys of stumbling across a great vintage jacket, or unearthing a dirt-cheap book ( in English!) from a pile of Japanese novels and manga. We  visited two markets, an indoors one, and one held in Banpaku Kinen Koen, a sprawling park originally used as the site for the Expo ’70, a world trade fair. I have been living in Osaka for over six years, but I had never been to the park before ( mainly because it is located on the outskirts of the city, about a hour’s train ride away). I pretty much fell in love with it – the rolling hills of lush, emerald grass, the sun dappled lanes, the weather worn benches dotting the area – it was a very different sight from the concrete corporate Osaka I see everyday : The strange, massive monument in the above picture is the Tower of the Sun, an eccentric piece of artwork created just for the Expo. It was supposed to be demolished after the Expo ended, but the people of O-town liked it so much that they had it repaired and preserved :)

And finally, the spoils of the day : A vintage bag ( that reeked of mothballs, but a good wash and two days’ worth of sunshine later, is good as new), and a wooden box to store my knick-knacks ( this was about 50 cents!) :

Thank you so much for reading, and do let me know about your flea market haunts :) Have a great week ahead!

Leave a Reply

